MURPHYSBORO -- Madison Mueller was crowned Miss Apple Festival 2014 Saturday evening in Murphysboro Middle School Auditorium.

Mueller, 17, is the daughter of Michael and Kimberly Mueller. She was sponsored in the pageant by Chris Mueller State Farm Agency. She is a senior at Carbondale Community High School.

First runner-up was Rylee Marnati, 18, the daughter of Jeff and Connie Marnati. She was sponsored in the pageant by Mr. Tuxedo & Bridal. A 2014 graduate of Murphysboro High School, Marnati attends John A. Logan College in Carterville.

Second runner-up was Victoria Summers, 18, the daughter of Sandra Summers and the late Robert Summers and step-daughter of Angie Peterman. Summers is also a 2014 graduate of Murphysboro High School. She attends SIU.

Earlier in the evening, the 2014 Apple Festival Prince and Princess were crowned.

The 2014 Apple Festival Prince was Anthony Spurgeon, son of Tammy Hardy and Papa Richard Spurgeon. First runner-up was Gabriel Otey, son of Brian Otey and Andre Patrick.

Emma Fred, daughter of Jason and Shelly Fred, was crowned 2014 Apple Festival Princess. First runner up was Michelle James, daughter of Mike and Jodi James.

Apple Pie and Apple Butter Contests 2014 winners are listed by class in order first through third. 

Apple Pie, Traditional: Tricia Parmley, Janice Rendleman, Karen Hale.

Apple Pie, Non-Traditional: Karen Hale, Heather Johnson, Susie Kilquist.

Sponsor's Choice: Tara O'Leary, traditional; Chablis Lundeen, non-traditional. 

Apple Butter: Craig Family, Tri-County Cooks/Heather Johnson, Tom Guetersloh.

Teams representing St. Andrew School took top honors in both divisions of the Apple Pie Eating Contest 2014. St. Andrew Jr. Pie-a-nators won in the K-8 division. Team members were Matthew Nadolski, Eli Dyer, Brayden Hudgins, Aron Abel and Alek Abel. In the "out of high school division," winners were St. Andrew Teachers team, with members Niki Forrester, Mary Nadolski, Kate Ripperda, Casey Graham and Kelly Barger.

Bryan Clover and Rebecca Clover won the Apple Peeling Contest 2014. Their peels measured a total of 351 inches, with a longest peel of 21 1/3 inches.

Winners of the Fiddle and Banjo Contest 2014 included the following, listed in order first through third by class. 

Open fiddle: Jennifer Wisehart, John Simmons, Roger Steinbruck.

Junior fiddle: Beth Davis and Tyler Sappington (tie), Greg Mynear, Devan Mahale.

Open banjo: Lucas Worthington, Tyler Sappington, Jim Smith.

Window display contest winners were: Jackson County Republican Women, first; Think Vintage!, second; Wal-Mart, third; Tammy's Tiny Tots, fourth; St. Joseph Memorial Hospital, fifth; Murphysboro Abstract, sixth; H&R Block, seventh; Jackson County Housing Authority (North 13th Street), eighth. 

Apple Blossom Contest 2014 winners are Alexis Kupczak, 1 1/2 years old, daughter of Charish and Steven Kupczak of Murphysboro, age group 0-2 years; and Gabriella Collins, 3 1/2 years old, daughter of Lecia Hale of Murphysboro; age group 3-4 years. 

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments