Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Democrats appear to win all contested races in Makanda Township
alert urgent
Makanda Township

Democrats appear to win all contested races in Makanda Township

Makanda Boardwalk

The Makanda boardwalk, in Makanda, Illinois.

MAKANDA — Makanda Township voters appeared to have handily chosen Democratic candidates for township office in all contested races in the consolidated election on Tuesday, with two of four precincts reporting.

Incumbent Mildred “Millie” Weatherford, a Republican, was defeated by challenger Regina T. Einig for township clerk. Einig received 278 votes to Weatherford’s 195.

Incumbent Highway Commissioner Danny Williams lost his seat to challenger Ed Hoke. Williams had 174 votes to Hoke’s 303.

In the race township trustee, the following candidates were elected: Debbie Stanley with 287 votes, Fred G. York with 272, Clay Kolar with 270 and Michael Holub with 255, defeating Jim Crane, 188; Gary Heern 201; Cheryl Mayer, 185; and Herb Russell, 176.



Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News