Skip to main content

Family Counseling Center

About Family Counseling Center

Family Counseling Center, Inc. is a private, not-for profit corporation. FCC receives funding from the Illinois Department of Human Services — Division of Mental Health, Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse, Division of Developmental Disabilities; Illinois Department of Children and Family Services; United States Department of Housing & Urban Development; Local 553 Property Tax Levy; gifts and client fees.

Family Counseling Center, Inc. (FCC) opened its doors in June 1974 to provide mental Behavioral Health (BH) out-patient services to residents of Pope County. Although we began by providing services to Pope County, FCC was also given responsibility for additional regions: Pope, Hardin and Johnson counties — primarily due to economics and demographics. In 1976, FCC became incorporated as a Not-for-Profit 501(c)3. In 1989, FCC expanded our program offerings to include Developmental Services (DS) for both residential homes and developmental training. The Supportive Living division opened its doors in April 2008, to provide quality senior living care. In August of 2015, Family Counseling Center, Inc. expanded its behavioral health footprint into Alexander and Pulaski Counties.

Subsequently, FCC has grown to 17 sites: 6 in Johnson County — our largest populated area; 4 sites in Hardin County; 3 sites in Pope County; 2 sites in Alexander County; and 1 site in Pulaski County with services extending beyond those 4 counties to include Massac, Saline and Union.

FCC provides more than 22 different types of services to over 1500 clients, within 3 separate divisions: Behavioral Health (adult/youth outpatient and crisis intervention services, substance abuse outpatient, 24-7 residential, psychiatric services, 8-apartments complex); Developmental Services (crisis, therapy, 24-7 residential, workshop, school transition and home based); and Supportive Living (Autumn Ridge Supportive Living Facility—46 apartment complex for independent senior living). FCC has been accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) since 1992.

Our 9 member Board of Directors is elected from 5 counties: Hardin, Johnson, Pope, and Alexander/Pulaski Counties.

“This institution is an equal opportunity provider.”

Other Information

Is this your business?

Promote your business through our innovative Marketplace system! It's free to sign up!


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News