Try 3 months for $3

SIU quarterback Matt DeSomer (7) gets away from South Dakota State safety Makiah Slade (6) during the second quarter at Saluki Stadium on Saturday in Carbondale.

CARBONDALE — Taryn Christion passed for 341 yards and two touchdowns, and sixth-ranked South Dakota State rushed for five more scores in a 57-38 win over SIU at Saluki Stadium Saturday.

The Jackrabbits (7-2, 5-2 Missouri Valley Football Conference) put up 656 yards in their third straight win. SDSU won for the sixth time in its last seven games against the Salukis (2-8, 1-6), who had 541 total yards. 

Matt DeSomer rushed for a school-record four touchdowns, the most ever for a quarterback in a single game, and completed 16 of 32 passes for 184 yards and a touchdown. DeSomer rushed for 66 yards on 14 carries. D.J. Davis rushed for 201 yards on 13 carries to go over 1,000 yards for the season.

Pierre Strong rushed for a 72-yard touchdown and Christion found Cade Johnson for a 56-yard score in the final six minutes of the first half to lift SDSU to a 30-17 halftime lead.

The Jackrabbits also got a 1-yard touchdown run by Mikey Daniel, a 21-yard field goal from Chase Vinatieri and blocked a punt for a touchdown at Saluki Stadium. SDSU rushed for 116 yards and passed for 167 without a turnover in the opening 30 minutes.

SIU got a career-long, 50-yard field goal from freshman Griffin Cerra and two touchdown runs from quarterback DeSomer to hang close in the first half. DeSomer's 1-yard scoring run with 5:24 to go in the half helped the Salukis tie the game at 10. SDSU closed with a flurry to take the lead.

SIU went 0-5 at home, the first winless season at home since 1994. The Salukis close the season at No. 1 North Dakota State on Nov. 17. 

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.


On Twitter: @THefferman


Sports reporter

Todd Hefferman has covered SIU athletics since 2008. A University of Iowa grad, he is a member of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association and a Heisman Trophy voter.

Load comments